Washington Post Social Reader is a Facebook-enhanced reader that lets you instantly share what you are reading, see what your friends are reading, follow the latest news on topics that are important to you and discover stories recommended for you). For those who do not want to instantly share, there is the option to turn instant sharing “On” and “Off.” (See below for more detail). For those who do not wish to sign in with their Facebook account, there is the option to remain anonymous and read articles on a limited basis. Along with Washington Post content, the app features content from over 90 quality sources.
In order to have the full Social Reader experience, you will still need to sign in via Facebook. For users who do not wish to sign in with their Facebook account, you can remain anonymous and may be able to read articles on a limited basis..
Instant Sharing Control Within Social Reader. We now allow you to turn instant sharing “On” or “Off” directly within Social Reader. For most users – new users and users whose Facebook permission settings for Social Reader were “Friends” or “Public” – the default setting will be to have “Instant Sharing on.” You can see this button near your profile photo at the top of socialreader.com, both on desktop and the mobile web.
For existing users who previously set their Facebook permission settings for Social Reader to “Only Me” or “Custom,” the default setting will be to have “Instant Sharing off.” For all users, if you wish to make any changes to how information about your activity within Social Reader is shared within Social Reader, you must do so via the Instant Sharing button on socialreader.com and not via the Facebook permission box. We no longer will apply a user’s Facebook settings for Social Reader to the audience within Social Reader.
Anonymous Browsing. We have added functionality to allow users to read articles within Social Reader on a limited basis without signing in through Facebook. These users will remain anonymous – i.e., their activity will not be shared with their friends in Social Reader or with Facebook. However, in order to have the full Social Reader experience, you will still need to sign in via Facebook.
Information About Older Activity. We have extended the time during which information about your activity in Social Reader is visible to others beyond the previous limit of 30 days. This applies only to activity where instant sharing is on. However, you can choose at any time to hide the fact that you read a particular article, as explained below.
With “Instant Sharing on,” we automatically share your Social Reader activity with Facebook and with your friends who are also on Social Reader. Facebook’s policies control how your Social Reader activity may be displayed on Facebook outside of socialreader.com. Outside Facebook and Social Reader, we may present your activity to your Facebook friends on partner websites in widgets branded with Social Reader
With “Instant Sharing off,” none of your Social Reader activity will be automatically shared with Facebook or visible to your friends who are also on Social Reader. Please note that this will only apply to your activity on Social Reader after you turn off Instant Sharing. That is, if you previously had “Instant Sharing on,” your activity on Social Reader during that time may be still be available on Facebook or within Social Reader. When instant sharing is off, you can still choose to share or recommend stories on an article-by-article basis.
Even with “instant sharing on,” we understand that in some circumstances you may not want others to see what you are reading. At the top of every article, you will be notified of when you’ve read an article and therefore instant shared it; you may delete the fact that you have read an article by clicking on “hide this.”
By clicking the button, the fact that you read the particular article will no longer be visible inside the Social Reader app.
When Instant Sharing is “Off,” we do not automatically share your activity in Social Reader with Facebook.
Articles you read on washingtonpost.com or on the websites of any of our content partners will not automatically be shared with Facebook. To share articles while on content partner websites, click the Facebook Recommend button on an article-by-article basis.
In order to sign out of Social Reader, simply go to your profile, hover and click to sign out.
You can remove the app by following these steps on Facebook.
We want our privacy practices and choices to be as clear and helpful as possible. Tell us what you think by emailing us.
We may ask you to provide personally identifiable information for various reasons and at various times. For example, when you sign up for the app, we may collect your email address, interests, and other information about your friends. We may ask for information about users at other times, too, such as when they contact us with a question. We may combine this information with other information (including personally identifiable information) about users that we may have collected from other sources. We may automatically collect information about you when you use this app. For instance, we may automatically collect certain non-personally identifiable information, such as which articles each user reads, which pages each user visits, where you click on this site, information about your specific interests and channels, the domain name, your IP address, Web browser software (such as Internet Explorer), and referring web site. In addition, we may place a “cookie” (a small, unique identifier text file) on your system to remember who you are. We also may include other information in our cookie files; for example, if you arrived at this site via a link from third-party site, we may include the URL of the linking page. You may opt out of the cookies delivered by us by changing the setting on your browser. Please be aware that this will disable all cookies delivered to your browser, not just the ones delivered by us. We may combine all of this information with other information, including personally identifiable information we have collected about you. II. USE OF INFORMATION
You can access and update personally identifiable information that you have provided to us via Facebook’s privacy settings page. You can access and update any personally identifiable information that you have provided directly to us, or ask us questions, by contacting us here. V. DATA SECURITY
We have in place administrative, technical, and physical measures to protect the information we collect online. However, we cannot guarantee the security of our database, nor can we guarantee that the information you supply will not be intercepted while being transmitted to us over the Internet. VI. EXTERNAL LINKS